Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Fees/FAQs/Rules

An inviting trail at William B. Umstead State Park
Home >> William B. Umstead State Park >> Fees/FAQs/Rules
Campground Closed   

Our campground is closed due to needing repairs in our bathhouse. We will update the website when we are open for camping. 

 Last updated on: Thursday, July 30, 2020

Help Wanted    

Position: Seasonal Park Attendant Position
Pay: $8.00/Hour 
Term Length: 6 Month or 11 month Term Position
40 Hours/Week
 
Job Description: 

  • General Park Maintenance 
  • Landscaping
  • Trail Maintenance
  • Facilities Cleaning
  • Light Trades Work
  • Brush Clearing
  • Invasive Species Removal
  • Customer Service
  • Working Outdoors in All Weather Conditions
  • Emptying Trash Receptacles
  • Working Some Weekends and Holidays

Please send a filled out all PD-107 Standard State of NC application to:
 
Seasonal Hiring Manager
8801 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27617 
 
or email to nick.dioguardi@ncparks.gov
 

 Last updated on: Thursday, July 30, 2020

Park Will Close When Parking Lot Full   

NOTICE: The park will close when parking is full and no cars will be allowed to enter until more parking becomes available. As one vehicle leaves the park, we will allow the next vehicle waiting to enter.
 

 Last updated on: Monday, July 27, 2020


8801 Glenwood Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27617

919-571-4170
william.umstead@ncparks.gov

 

Map of North Carolina

GPS: 35.8905, -78.7502

 

8801 Glenwood Ave. entrance
 

  • November to February:
    8:00am to 6:00pm
     
  • March to April:
    8:00am to 8:00pm
     
  • May to August:
    8:00am to 9:00pm
     
  • September to October:
    8:00am to 8:00pm
     
  • Closed Christmas Day

2100 N. Harrison Ave. entrance
 

  • November to February:
    8:00am to 6:00pm
     
  • March to April:
    8:00am to 8:00pm
     
  • May to August:
    8:00am to 9:00pm
     
  • September to October:
    8:00am to 8:00pm
     
  • Closed Christmas Day
     
VISITOR CENTER:
  • 9:00am to 5:00pm daily
     
  • Closed Christmas Day
     
EXHIBIT HALL inside visitor center:
  • 9:00am to 4:30pm
     
  • Closed Christmas Day
     

Tent and trailer family campground open
April 1 to October 31
 

  • April:
    7:00am to 9:00pm
     
  • May to August:
    7:00am to 10:00pm
     
  • September to October:
    7:00am to 9:00pm
     
  • Closed Christmas Day
     
Campers: Please note that once the campground gates close, they are locked until the park reopens the following day. There will be no entry or exit permitted, except for law enforcement or medical emergencies.

 

Additional information

There are no entrance fees to enjoy the park. In addition to park-specific rules, please read the systemwide Park Rules for all North Carolina State Parks.

Boating

Boat rentals are available from April 1 to October 31 through the visitor center. Boat rentals are $7 per boat (cash, check or credit card). Rental hours are 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Boats are not available for rental after 3 p.m. and all boats must be returned by 4:15 p.m.

  • Individuals must be at least 16 years old to rent a boat, unless accompanied by an adult.
  • Private hand-powered boats are permitted on Big Lake.
  • Gasoline motors are not permitted.
  • Electric trolling motors are allowed.
  • Pets are not permitted in boats.

Notice: Paddleboards are allowed, but paddleboarders need to be aware that rocks, glass and other unknown debris may be present on lake bottom, so protective footwear is recommended. Paddle at your own risk! Lifejackets are required for all watercraft.

Fishing

Regulations of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission are enforced.

Permits

Event permits. Some events—such as weddings, athletic contests, company parties, etc.—may require a Special Activity Permit. If you're unsure whether such a permit is necessary for your event, call the park office beforehand. You can download a Special Activity Permit application or obtain one from the park office.

Research and collection permits. A permit is required for any project involving the collection, removal or disturbance of any natural or cultural resource of any state park unit and for projects that require placing monitoring equipment in any state park unit. Learn more about research and collection permits or fill out a permit application online.

 

A $25 fee will be charged for all returned checks.