Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

South Mountains State Park

Trail Conditions

South Mountains State Park received approximately 10-14 inches of snow this past weekend. Trails are currently covered in snow and ice. Boots and hiking sticks are strongly recommended. Please remember to dress in layers and come prepared to safely enjoy the winter wonderland. Avoid trails with stream crossings as snow and ice melt will result in higher streams with chunks of ice floating in them. High Shoals Falls Loop is open but very challenging. Steps and rocks aren't visible under the snow, and footing will be tricky. Saddleback Trail will remain closed as snow and ice melt.

Spring Wildfower Hike

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sat, 04/06/2019 - 2:00pm
Sat, 04/13/2019 - 2:00pm
Sat, 04/20/2019 - 2:00pm
Sat, 04/27/2019 - 2:00pm

Join a Park Ranger for a wildflower walk along the Jacob Fork River.  These moderate hikes will begin at the Jacob Fork Parking Area and last approximately one hour.  Each hike will be about 0.75 miles long.  Current blooming wildflowers and other flora will be identified on this walk.

Spring Wildflower Hike

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sat, 04/06/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 04/13/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 04/20/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 04/27/2019 - 11:00am

Join a Park Ranger for a wildflower walk along the Jacob Fork River.  These moderate hikes will begin at the Jacob Fork Parking Area and last approximately one hour.  Each hike will be about 0.75 miles long.  Current blooming wildflowers and other flora will be identified on this walk.

First Hike

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Tue, 01/01/2019 - 11:00am

Start the New Year with some fresh air!  This hike includes the 80 ft. High Shoals waterfall.  This moderate 2.75 mile hike will last approximately 1.5 hours.  Please bring water, appropriate clothing and footwear.  Please call the park office for more information.

Wintergreen Hike

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sat, 01/05/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 01/12/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 01/19/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 01/26/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 02/02/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 02/09/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 02/16/2019 - 11:00am
Sat, 02/23/2019 - 11:00am

Enjoy a leisurely walk along the Hemlock Nature Trail, and learn about some of the many plant species that stay green all year long.  Meet at the Jacob Fork Parking Area at 11:00 am for this easy one mile walk.

Volunteer Trail Work Days at Clear Creek Access

Make your mark at the park in a positive way. Join park staff at Clear Creek Access to help build a new trail around the lake! Volunteers must contact the park office in advance by email or phone for planning purposes. Tools and equipment will be provided by park staff. Contact Ranger Leigh Ann Angle or Ranger Mark Sain for more information and to confirm attendance. leigh.angle@ncparks.gov or mark.sain@ncparks.gov or call park visitor center at 828-433-4772

Black Bears

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sat, 03/10/2018 - 2:00pm
Sat, 03/24/2018 - 2:00pm

How dangerous are black bears?  Can we coexist?  Why are black bears so unique?  What should I do if I see a black bear?  The program will begin at 2:00 pm in the Visitor Center.
 
 

Wildflower Hike

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sat, 04/14/2018 - 2:00pm
Sat, 04/28/2018 - 2:00pm

Join a Park Ranger for a wildflower walk along the Jacob Fork River.  These moderate hikes will begin at the Jacob Fork Parking Area and last approximately one hour.  Each hike will be about 0.75 miles long.  Current blooming wildflowers and other flora will be identified on this walk.
 
 

Wildflower Hike

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sat, 03/31/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 04/01/2018 - 2:00pm

Join a Park Ranger for a wildflower walk along the Jacob Fork River.  These moderate hikes will begin at the Jacob Fork Parking Area and last approximately one hour.  Each hike will be about 0.75 miles long.  Current blooming wildflowers and other flora will be identified on this walk.
 
 

Fly Fishing 101

South Mountains State Park
Date of Event: 
Sun, 02/04/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 02/11/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 02/18/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 02/25/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 03/04/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 03/11/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 03/18/2018 - 2:00pm
Sun, 03/25/2018 - 2:00pm

Get Hooked! Join a volunteer angler at the Visitor Center at 2:00 pm for an introductory class on fly fishing.  Please bring all personal equipment available.  Classes may vary based on interest and skill level of the participants.   North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission fishing regulations still  apply.