Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Fees/FAQs/Rules

Jordan Lake Poplar Point campground
Memorial Weekend Beach/Day Use Areas    

  You should expect, and plan for, traffic congestion and delays when driving to the park. Once all parking spaces are full, additional cars will not be allowed into Jordan Lake State Recreation Area. The best time to come is normally early in the morning or late in the afternoon and carpool as much as possible. Bring all food, drinks, and recreational equipment into the park with you.  If you leave the park to purchase soft drinks, lunch, or other items, you may not get back into the park when you return. Do not attempt to park outside of Jordan Lake State Recreation Area and then walk into the park.  Pedestrians will not be allowed into the park. Do not park your vehicle in the “No Parking” zones posted around Jordan Lake.   Law enforcement officials will be enforcing parking violations through fines and by towing illegally parked vehicles.

 

 Posted on: Monday, May 21, 2018 - 1:44pm
Vista Point Closure - Ironman 70.3 Raleigh Triathlon    

Vista Point will be closed to the general public 5-31-18 through 6-3-18 for the Ironman 70.3 Raleigh Triathlon.  Please make plans to use other areas for boat ramps or hiking trails during this time.  Seaforth, Parker's Creek, New Hope and Ebenezer will be alternatives.

 Posted on: Monday, May 21, 2018 - 1:55pm
Fees/FAQs/Rules

In addition to park-specific rules, please read the systemwide Park Rules for all North Carolina State Parks.

Entrance Fees

Jordan Lake State Recreation Area charges for entry in the summer months, to supplement operational costs and help maintain and improve the areas for visitors. The per-car fee is charged daily from Memorial Day through Labor Day, holidays in April, May and September and on weekends. Annual pass holders are entitled to an unlimited number of visits without paying the admission fee.

  • Motor Vehicles: $6 per day.
  • Senior Citizen (62 or older): $4 per day.
  • Bus or van: $15 per day.
  • Annual Pass: $60.

Weekend Fees

  • Motor Vehicles: $7 per day.
  • Senior Citizen (62 or older): $5 per day.
  • Bus or van: $20 per day.

You can purchase the annual pass at the park offices. The pass is also good for unlimited entry to Falls Lake State Recreation Area and Kerr Lake State Recreation Area, and is valid anytime within the calendar year.

Permits

Event permits. Some events—such as weddings, athletic contests, company parties, etc.—may require a Special Activity Permit. If you're unsure whether such a permit is necessary for your event, call the park office beforehand. You can download a Special Activity permit application or obtain one from the park office.

Research and collection permits. A permit is required for any project involving the collection, removal or disturbance of any natural or cultural resource of any state park unit and for projects that require placing monitoring equipment in any state park unit. Learn more about research and collection permits or fill out a permit application online.

 

A $25 fee will be charged for all returned checks.

Contact:

Jordan Lake State Recreation Area

280 State Park Road
ApexNorth Carolina 27523
Phone919-362-0586
jordan.lake@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 35.735554
Longitude: -79.016569

Park Hours:

Day Use Areas
May-August: 8am to 9pm
September, October, March, April: 8am to 8pm
November-February: 8am to 6pm

Campgrounds
May-September : 8am to 10pm
March, April and October: 8am to 9pm
November-February: 8am to 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Jordan Lake's day use area gates and campground gate open and lock promptly at posted times. No entry or exit is permitted before or after posted gate hours except for law enforcement or medical emergencies. 

Park Office and Information Center Hours
8am - 4:30pm daily 
8am - 5pm weekdays only (November - February)
Closed on November 23, November 24, December 25, 26 and 27 for the holidays.