Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
Wash Houses Closed -- Primitive Camping Only   

The campground wash houses are closed for the winter months.  A pit toilet and water spigot are centrally located in the family campground.

 Last updated on: Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Anthony Miller artwork will be on display in the Jayebird Gallery every day in November and December from 9:00 a.m. until 4:45 p.m. Jayebird Gallery physical address is 1005 Visitor Center Dr. Walnut Cove, NC. If you'd like to purchase one of the artworks, information on how to do so will be posted in the gallery.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Friday until Mon Dec 31 2018.
Sat, 11/03/2018 - 9:00am to Mon, 12/31/2018 - 4:45pm, Fri, 11/09/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/06/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 11/16/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/13/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 11/23/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/20/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 11/30/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/27/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/07/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/03/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/14/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/10/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/21/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/17/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/28/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/24/2019 - 5:45pm
Start Location:
Jayebird Gallery in the Visitor Center

Join a Ranger for a pleasant hike around the lake.  General park information will be discussed.  Let's stay active over the holiday season!

Date of Event:
Sat, 12/22/2018 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Start Location:
Lake Bathhouse

Join a Ranger for a pleasant hike around the lake.  General park information will be discussed.  Let's stay active over the holiday season!

Date of Event:
Sun, 12/23/2018 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Start Location:
Lake Bathhouse

Anthony Miller artwork will be on display in the Jayebird Gallery every day in November and December from 9:00 a.m. until 4:45 p.m. Jayebird Gallery physical address is 1005 Visitor Center Dr. Walnut Cove, NC. If you'd like to purchase one of the artworks, information on how to do so will be posted in the gallery.

Date of Event:
Sat, 11/03/2018 - 9:00am to Mon, 12/31/2018 - 4:45pm, Fri, 11/09/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/06/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 11/16/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/13/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 11/23/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/20/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 11/30/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 01/27/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/07/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/03/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/14/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/10/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/21/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/17/2019 - 5:45pm, Fri, 12/28/2018 - 9:00am to Sun, 02/24/2019 - 5:45pm
Start Location:
Jayebird Gallery in the Visitor Center

Whether you have some new gear that you received over the Holidays or you have an active New Year’s resolution let us help you break in or refresh back into hiking. Meet with a ranger in the Hanging Rock visitors center auditorium to talk about basic hiking skills.  We will discuss injury prevention/ergonomics and what to pack at a minimum.  We will also discuss the importance of footwear and how shoes and socks should fit.
 

Date of Event:
Sat, 12/29/2018 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Start Location:
Visitor Center Auditorium
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Map of North Carolina

 

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily