Shop Reservations Newsroom


Eddie Holbrook Reappointed to N.C. Parks and Recreation Authority

Home >> Newsroom >> Press Releases >> Eddie Holbrook Reappointed to N.C. Parks and Recreation Authority
Michael F. Easley, Governor
William G. Ross, Jr., Secretary

Release Note: 
Charlie Peek
Release Date: 
Wednesday, October 19, 2005

Eddie Holbrook Reappointed to N.C. Parks and Recreation Authority

RALEIGH -- Eddie Holbrook of Shelby has been reappointed by the N.C. General Assembly to a three-year term on the N.C. Parks and Recreation Authority. Holbrook, dean of community relations and development at Cleveland Community College has served on the authority since 1999.

The 11-member authority is the governing body of the Parks and Recreation Trust Fund. The fund was established in 1994, and its programs are administered through the N.C. Division of Parks and Recreation. The fund is supported by the state's tax on real estate deed transfers with revenues distributed to three programs: 65 percent to the state parks system for land acquisition and capital projects; 30 percent for matching grants to local parks and recreation programs; and five percent to coastal beach access projects.

"Since 1994, the Parks and Recreation Authority has been a dynamic group with a honest commitment to improving parks and recreation opportunities throughout the state, and Eddie Holbrook's dedication and interest has played an important role in that success," said Lewis Ledford, director of the division.

A native of Elkin, Holbrook holds a master's degree from Appalachian State University and has been an educator and coach since 1962. He has been awarded the Shelby Star Freedom Award for Service to the Community and is an inductee of the Gardner-Webb University Hall of Fame. He has been active in American Legion baseball and is a former director of development for the Cleveland County YMCA and a former head basketball coach for Furman University.

Since its creation, the Parks and Recreation Authority has awarded 432 grants totaling $73.3 million to local governments for parks and recreation projects including land acquisition, facilities development and renovation of public park and recreation areas. Incorporated municipalities, counties and public authorities can apply for the matching grants of up to $500,000. (For a grant application and more information about the trust fund, go to . The deadline for the current cycle of grant applications is Jan. 31.)

The authority has also allocated more than $100 million for projects in the state parks system and more than $10 million to improve public beach access.

The Parks and Recreation Authority is appointed by the Governor and by the General Assembly upon recommendations of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House. Current members are: Wendell Begley of Black Mountain; Harriot Farrior of Wallace; Eddie Holbrook of Shelby; Walt Israel of Belmont; Lisa Weston of Belmont; Ron Kincaid of Mount Gilead; Lydia Boesch of Pinehurst; Kenneth Sadler of Lewisville; Cynthia Tart of Oak Island; Timothy Aydlett of Hertford. Jonathan B. Howes of Chapel Hill serves as chairman.