Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
Public Meeting: Hanging Rock State Park Master Plan   

Time:  Thursday, June 29, 4:00 – 7:00 pm
Place:  Walnut Cove Public Library, 106 5th St, Walnut Cove, NC 27052
What to expect: Multiple concepts and ideas for the property will be on display and the community will have an opportunity to provide valuable feedback to the design team. Members of the design team, park rangers and staff from the N.C. Department of Natural and Cultural Resources will be on hand to answer questions.
 

 Posted on: Monday, June 26, 2017 - 12:51pm
Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Every Wednesday night from May 31 until August 30, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. in the campground amphitheatre. (Beside campsite 2) Come join the Danbury Songwriters in a campground jam. Visiting pickers are invited but you don't have to play or sing to join in. Foot-tapping is appreciated. Everyone is welcome. FREE. Stokes County musicians who perform locally as the Danbury Songwriters (https://www.danburysongwriters.org) lead the jams and keep things moving. So bring your chops and be ready to play!
Non-campers will have to park on the paved parking lot at the visitor center and walk over, as there are no parking spaces at the amphitheatre. Weather permitting.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Aug 30 2017 .
Wed, 06/07/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/14/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/21/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/28/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/05/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/12/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/19/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/26/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/02/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/09/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/16/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/23/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/30/2017 - 7:00pm
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheatre

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday from April 29 through November 11, 2017 in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

 

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Nov 11 2017 .
Sat, 04/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/06/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/13/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/20/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/03/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/10/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/17/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/24/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/01/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/15/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/05/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/12/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/19/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/26/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/02/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/09/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/16/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/23/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/30/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/07/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/14/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/21/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/28/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/04/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/11/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Every Wednesday night from May 31 until August 30, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. in the campground amphitheatre. (Beside campsite 2) Come join the Danbury Songwriters in a campground jam. Visiting pickers are invited but you don't have to play or sing to join in. Foot-tapping is appreciated. Everyone is welcome. FREE. Stokes County musicians who perform locally as the Danbury Songwriters (https://www.danburysongwriters.org) lead the jams and keep things moving. So bring your chops and be ready to play!
Non-campers will have to park on the paved parking lot at the visitor center and walk over, as there are no parking spaces at the amphitheatre. Weather permitting.

Date of Event:
Wed, 06/07/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/14/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/21/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/28/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/05/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/12/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/19/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/26/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/02/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/09/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/16/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/23/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/30/2017 - 7:00pm
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheatre

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday from April 29 through November 11, 2017 in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

 

Date of Event:
Sat, 04/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/06/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/13/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/20/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/03/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/10/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/17/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/24/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/01/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/15/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/05/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/12/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/19/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/26/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/02/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/09/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/16/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/23/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/30/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/07/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/14/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/21/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/28/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/04/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/11/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Every Wednesday night from May 31 until August 30, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. in the campground amphitheatre. (Beside campsite 2) Come join the Danbury Songwriters in a campground jam. Visiting pickers are invited but you don't have to play or sing to join in. Foot-tapping is appreciated. Everyone is welcome. FREE. Stokes County musicians who perform locally as the Danbury Songwriters (https://www.danburysongwriters.org) lead the jams and keep things moving. So bring your chops and be ready to play!
Non-campers will have to park on the paved parking lot at the visitor center and walk over, as there are no parking spaces at the amphitheatre. Weather permitting.

Date of Event:
Wed, 06/07/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/14/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/21/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 06/28/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/05/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/12/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/19/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/26/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/02/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/09/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/16/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/23/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/30/2017 - 7:00pm
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheatre
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Park Hours:

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily