Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
Fall boat rentals   

Rowboat and canoe rentals are available at the refreshment stand on weekends only until the end of October, but the beach and swimming area will be closed after Labor Day. Please contact the park for more information.

 Posted on: Friday, October 12, 2018
Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Saturday 30 times.
Sat, 04/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 04/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/02/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/09/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/16/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/23/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/30/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/07/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/14/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/01/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/08/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/15/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/22/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/29/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/06/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/13/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/20/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/27/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/03/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/10/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Join a park ranger at the Tory’s Den parking lot for a short (0.3 mi) hike to the cave.  We will discuss how the area was used as a Loyalist hideout during the American Revolution and learn a bit of interesting local history.
 

Date of Event:
Sat, 10/27/2018 - 2:00pm
Start Location:
Tory's Den Parking Lot

Join a ranger at the Lake Bathhouse for a 1.0 mile round trip hike around the park lake. We will observe the fall foliage and identify the common trees found here at Hanging Rock, talk about park history, and anything else we see along the way. Wear hiking shoes, and please no dogs at program.

Date of Event:
Sun, 10/28/2018 - 2:00pm
Start Location:
Lake Bathhouse

Trails at Vade Mecum will be open for hiking from 9-5 on the first weekend of each month. Please check in at the welcome center inside Vade Mecum with the Friends Of Sauratown Mountains volunteer. Maps are available. Guided historic tours are also available for a donation and are scheduled throughout the day. For more info email FSM President Debbie Vaden debbie.vaden@sauratownfriends.org

Date of Event:
Repeats every month on May, June, July, August, September, October, November on the first Saturday until Sat Nov 10 2018.
Sat, 05/05/2018 - 9:00am, Sat, 06/02/2018 - 9:00am, Sat, 07/07/2018 - 9:00am, Sat, 08/04/2018 - 9:00am, Sat, 09/01/2018 - 9:00am, Sat, 10/06/2018 - 9:00am, Sat, 11/03/2018 - 9:00am
Start Location:
physical address for this location is 1105 Camp Sertoma Dr. Westfield, NC 27053

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

Date of Event:
Sat, 04/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 04/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/02/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/09/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/16/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/23/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/30/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/07/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/14/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/01/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/08/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/15/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/22/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/29/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/06/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/13/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/20/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/27/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/03/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/10/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Map of North Carolina

 

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily