Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
North End of Moore's Wall Climbing Closure   

The North End of Moore's Wall at Hanging Rock State Park is closed to rock climbing due to nesting peregrine falcons in the area.  Only the North End is affected by this closure -- other parts of the wall and the boulder field remain open.  Please contact the park for more information.

 Posted on: Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 8:27am
Swimming Area Opens May 26   

The lakefront swimming area at Hanging Rock State Park will open for the season on Saturday, May 26.  Boat rentals are available at the lake area on weekends only until then.  Please contact the park for more information.

 Posted on: Friday, May 11, 2018 - 2:16pm
Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Saturday 30 times.
Sat, 04/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 04/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/02/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/09/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/16/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/23/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/30/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/07/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/14/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/01/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/08/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/15/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/22/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/29/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/06/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/13/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/20/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/27/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/03/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/10/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

Date of Event:
Sat, 04/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 04/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/02/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/09/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/16/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/23/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/30/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/07/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/14/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/01/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/08/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/15/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/22/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/29/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/06/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/13/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/20/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/27/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/03/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/10/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

Date of Event:
Sat, 04/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 04/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/02/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/09/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/16/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/23/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/30/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/07/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/14/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/21/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/28/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/01/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/08/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/15/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/22/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/29/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/06/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/13/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/20/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/27/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/03/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/10/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Let’s explore the fishing tactics used by Native Americans and early settlers!

Date of Event:
Sat, 06/23/2018 - 3:00pm
Start Location:
Visitor Center

Join a park ranger at the Campground Amphitheatre and learn about some of the animals found here in the park and the many ways they defend themselves from predators.  We'll have some pictures, animal skins and skulls to aid us in our talk.  Campers and cabin guests only.  Please, no dogs at program.

Date of Event:
Wed, 06/27/2018 - 7:00pm
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheatre
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Park Hours:

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily