Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Join a Ranger at the Bathhouse to enjoy a quiet canoe trip on the Hanging Rock Lake.  During this program we will go over basic canoe techniques and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature.  Children must be accompanied by an adult.  All equipment is provided.  There is no fee, but you MUST pre-register at the Visitor Center (336) 593-8480.  Limit 15 participants.  No dogs allowed at this program.
 

Date of Event:
Thu, 06/22/2017 - 7:00pm to 7:45pm
Start Location:
Lake Bathhouse

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday from April 29 through November 11, 2017 in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

 

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Nov 11 2017 .
Sat, 04/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/06/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/13/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/20/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/03/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/10/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/17/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 06/24/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/01/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/15/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/05/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/12/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/19/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/26/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/02/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/09/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/16/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/23/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/30/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/07/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/14/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/21/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/28/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/04/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/11/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Join an Environmental Educator for a leisurely walk around the Lake (1-mile loop), stopping along the way for several “nature highlights”.  Use all your senses to explore galls, burls, bugs and more!

Date of Event:
Sat, 06/24/2017 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Start Location:
Lake Bathhouse

Enjoy a program set up for children and the young at heart.  Campground Amphitheater - Campers and Cabin Guests only, PLEASE.
 

Date of Event:
Sun, 06/25/2017 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheater

Feel bear fur, see a bear skull, and learn fascinating facts about the reclusive and seldom-sighted visitor to Hanging Rock State Park. 
 

Date of Event:
Sun, 06/25/2017 - 2:00pm to 2:45pm
Start Location:
Hanging Rock Trailhead
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Park Hours:

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily