Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
Swimming Area Closed / Boat Rentals Weekends Only   

The lake swimming area is closed for the season.  Boat rentals will be available at the refreshment stand on weekends only until October 29.

Please contact the park for more information.

 Posted on: Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 9:35am
Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November 11, 2017 in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

 

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Nov 11 2017.
Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/15/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/05/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/12/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/19/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/26/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/02/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/09/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/16/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/23/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/30/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/07/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/14/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/21/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/28/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/04/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/11/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Join an Environmental Educator for a leisurely hike to Upper Cascades Waterfalls (0.6-mile round-trip).  Along the way, we will talk about the local trees and how the leaves change into brilliant Autumn colors.

Date of Event:
Sat, 10/21/2017 - 11:00am to 11:45am
Start Location:
Meet at Visitor Center

Join a park ranger at the Tory’s Den parking lot for a short (0.3 mi) hike to the cave.  Along the way you will learn how the site was used as a hideout for a band of outlaws during the American Revolutionary War and learn a bit of interesting local history.

Date of Event:
Sat, 10/21/2017 - 2:00pm
Start Location:
Tory's Den Parking Lot

Halloween has given bats a bad image.  Let’s dispel the myths.  Stop along the Upper Cascades Trail to check out an exquisite bat skeleton and to learn about these remarkable and beneficial flying mammals. 
 

Date of Event:
Sun, 10/22/2017 - 11:00am to 11:45am
Start Location:
Upper Cascades Trail

Join a park ranger for a moderate, 1-mile hike around the lake to observe our various species of deciduous trees in their fall splendor!  Bring your cameras!

Date of Event:
Sun, 10/22/2017 - 2:00pm
Start Location:
Lake Bathhouse
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Park Hours:

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily