Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Wolf Rock at Hanging Rock State Park
Home >> Hanging Rock State Park >> Events and Programs
Lake Operations August Schedule   

Due to the staff shortage caused by employees returning to school, the lake swimming and boating area at Hanging Rock State Park will be closed on August 21-23 and 29-30.  Otherwise, the area will remain open daily until Labor Day Monday, September 4.

Partial swimming area closures and / or diving platform closures may be implemented other weekdays in late August due to the shortage, but we will attempt to make any such interruptions as brief as possible.  Please contact the park for more information.

 Posted on: Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 12:10pm
Events and Programs

Hanging Rock State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Join a Park Ranger for a short, informative hike from the Visitor Center to the Lake Bath House.  We'll discuss the history of the Civilian Conservation Corp in the park and see first-hand impacts of their important work.  Pictures and artifacts will be on-hand as well.  Approximate length of program is 45 minutes.  In case of inclement weather, program will be held in the Visitor Center Auditorium.

Date of Event:
Wed, 08/16/2017 - 3:30pm
Start Location:
Visitor Center

Every Wednesday night until August 30, 2017 at 7:00 P.M. in the campground amphitheatre. (Beside campsite 2) Come join the Danbury Songwriters in a campground jam. Visiting pickers are invited but you don't have to play or sing to join in. Foot-tapping is appreciated. Everyone is welcome. FREE.

Stokes County musicians who perform locally as the Danbury Songwriters (https://www.danburysongwriters.org) lead the jams and keep things moving. So bring your chops and be ready to play!

Non-campers will have to park on the paved parking lot at the visitor center and walk over, as there are no parking spaces at the amphitheatre.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Wednesday 9 times.
Wed, 07/05/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/12/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/19/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 07/26/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/02/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/09/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/16/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/23/2017 - 7:00pm, Wed, 08/30/2017 - 7:00pm
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheatre

Join a Ranger for a paddle around Hanging Rock's 12-acre lake.  We'll talk about the flora and fauna of the park and hopefully see some wildlife.  Children must be accompanied by an adult.  Basic canoeing skills are highly suggested.  All equipment is provided. There is no fee but you MUST pre-register.  Limit 14 participants.  Sign-up at the Visitor Center (336)593-8480.
 

Date of Event:
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 7:00pm
Start Location:
Lake Bath House

Come check out our Farmers Market featuring homegrown produce, crafts, food and other items made and grown in Stokes County. This farmers market is offered by Stokes Future, a nonprofit designed to help feed our own, employ our own, and prosper.

Market will be open from 11 am until 2 pm every Saturday through November 11, 2017 in the parking lot near the Visitor Center. Live music too!

 

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Nov 11 2017.
Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/15/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/05/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/12/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/19/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 08/26/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/02/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/09/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/16/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/23/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 09/30/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/07/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/14/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/21/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 10/28/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/04/2017 - 11:00am, Sat, 11/11/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center parking lot

Enjoy a program set up for children and the young at heart.  Campground Amphitheater - Campers and Cabin Guests only, PLEASE.
 

Date of Event:
Sun, 08/20/2017 - 9:30am to 10:15am
Start Location:
Campground Amphitheater
Contact:

Hanging Rock State Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road
DanburyNC 27016
Phone336-593-8480
hanging.rock@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.411906
Longitude: -80.254120

Park Hours:

December, January, February: 7am - 7pm
March, April: 7am - 9pm
May, June, July, August, September: 7am - 10pm
October: 7am - 9pm
November: 7am - 8pm

Camping and cabin guests must arrive prior to the closing hour, after which the park gate is closed for the night.

The park is closed Christmas Day.

Swimming
(Summer months only. Hours may vary slightly due to staff availability. Diving platform may be closed due to staffing, please inquire with staff for hours)
Monday: 11am - 5:45pm
Tuesday - Sunday: 10am - 5:45pm
(Fee charged for all swimmers. Free swim from 5-5:45 pm)

Boat Rentals and Concession Stand
Weekends only in spring and fall (10am - 5:30pm)
Daily during summer months

Park Visitor Center
9am - 4:45pm daily