Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

2016 Annual Wildflower Walks

A hiker enjoys the view at Grandfather Mountain State Park
Home >> Grandfather Mountain State Park >> Events and Programs >> 2016 Annual Wildflower Walks

Park Maps and Brochures:

Upcoming Events:

Saturday, June 30, 2018 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 10:00am
Saturday, August 18, 2018 - 9:00am

2016 Annual Wildflower Walks

Free and Open to the Public
 
You are invited to join a park ranger for a guided wildflower walk in Grandfather Mountain State Park this spring.  There is a walk for everyone – some are more challenging but some do not venture far from the parking lot.  Grandfather Mountain’s forest floor produces an amazing variety of wildflowers, which change from week to week, so join us throughout the season to experience the changes!
 
The forest floor surrounding the Profile Trail Parking Lot is abundant with spring wildflowers.  We don’t need to go far to observe many species.  This is a great opportunity for someone who does not want to walk far: we’ll stay within 1/8 mile of the parking lot.  Dress for the weather and be prepared to be outside.  We ask that you please leave pets at home.

Scheduled Wildflower Walks:

  • Friday, April 1, 5:00pm
  • Friday, April 8, 4:00pm
  • Sunday, April 10, 4:00pm
  • Friday, April 15, 1:00pm
  • Sunday, April 24, 4:00pm
  • Friday, April 29, 4:00pm
  • Saturday, April 30, 1:00pm
  • Sunday, May 1, 9:00am
  • Saturday, May 7, 1:00pm
  • Friday, May 13, 4:00pm
  • Sunday, May 15, Time TBA
  • Tuesday, May 17, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 21, 2:00pm
  • Sunday, May 22, 9:00am
  • Saturday, May 28, 2:00pm
  • Sunday, June 12, 1:00pm
Date of Event: 
Friday, April 8, 2016 - 4:00pm to 5:30pm
Start Location: 
Profile Parking Area, Hwy 105 S, Banner Elk (GPS: 36.121990, -81.829993) https://goo.gl/dBX99s
Contact:

Grandfather Mountain State Park

9872 Hwy 105 S (Suite #6)
Banner ElkNC 28604
Phone828-963-9522
grandfather.mountain@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 36.111200
Longitude: -81.811140

Map of North Carolina

 

November - February: 8am - 6pm
March, April, May, September, October: 8am - 8pm
June, July, August: 8am - 9pm

To accommodate early hikes, park gates are not closed on a daily basis; however, they may close due to weather conditions.

OFFICE HOURS:  The state park office is open Monday through Friday, 8am - 4:30pm. You may contact our office during business hours or after hours; leave a message and we will return your call as soon as possible.

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 9
Linville, NC 28646