Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Fort Macon at Fort Macon State Park
Home >> Fort Macon State Park >> Events and Programs
Events and Programs

Fort Macon State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Meet in the fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, and 3:00. 

Date of Event:
Repeats every day until Thu May 31 2018.
Tue, 05/01/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/02/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/03/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/06/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/07/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/08/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/09/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/10/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/13/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/14/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/15/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/16/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/17/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/20/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/21/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/22/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/23/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/24/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/27/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/28/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/29/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/30/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/31/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort

Meet in the fort to watch a 19th century cannon be loaded and fired in the military tradition of the "Evening Gun."  Cannon Crew provided by US Coast Guard Station Ft. Macon.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Thu Jun 28 2018.
Wed, 05/30/2018 - 4:00pm, Wed, 06/06/2018 - 4:00pm, Wed, 06/13/2018 - 4:00pm, Wed, 06/20/2018 - 4:00pm, Wed, 06/27/2018 - 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort

Meet in the Visitor Center lobby for a leisurely hike exploring the natural side of Fort Macon.  Hike will cover both trail and beach.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Thursday until Fri Jun 29 2018.
Thu, 05/31/2018 - 10:00am, Thu, 06/07/2018 - 10:00am, Thu, 06/14/2018 - 10:00am, Thu, 06/21/2018 - 10:00am, Thu, 06/28/2018 - 10:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center

Meet in the fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, and 3:00. 

Date of Event:
Tue, 05/01/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/02/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/03/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/04/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/05/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/06/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/07/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/08/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/09/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/10/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/11/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/12/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/13/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/14/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/15/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/16/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/17/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/18/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/20/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/21/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/22/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/23/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/24/2018 - 11:00am, Fri, 05/25/2018 - 11:00am, Sat, 05/26/2018 - 11:00am, Sun, 05/27/2018 - 11:00am, Mon, 05/28/2018 - 11:00am, Tue, 05/29/2018 - 11:00am, Wed, 05/30/2018 - 11:00am, Thu, 05/31/2018 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort

Join a Ranger for a look at one of our local treasures, the sea turtle.  We will talk about all species of turtles and how common they are on our beaches.  We will also discuss their life cycle, and may be able to hike to an actual nest depending on the location of any nests we have this summer.  Meet at the Bathhouse.

Date of Event:
Repeats every month on June, July, August on the first Friday until Sat Aug 04 2018.
Fri, 06/01/2018 - 10:30am, Fri, 07/06/2018 - 10:30am, Fri, 08/03/2018 - 10:30am
Start Location:
Beach Access Bathhouse
Contact:

Fort Macon State Park

2303 East Fort Macon Road
Atlantic BeachNC 28512
Phone252-726-3775
fort.macon@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 34.697952
Longitude: -76.678340

Park Hours:

Fort Macon: 9am - 5:30pm daily.

Coastal Education and Visitor Center: 9am - 5pm daily.

Bookstore: 9am - 5pm Phone 252-247-3100

Bathhouse Area:
November - February:
8am - 5:30pm
March & October 8am - 7pm
April, May and September: 8am - 8pm
June - August: 8am - 9pm

Swimming Area:
10am - 5:45pm Memorial Day until Labor Day, if staffing permits

Fort Parking Area:
October - March: 8am - 6pm
April, May and September: 8am - 7pm
June - August: 8am - 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Park Office
8am - 1pm, 2pm - 5pm Monday - Friday
Closed state holidays