Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Exploring the Heavens

Fort Macon at Fort Macon State Park
Home >> Fort Macon State Park >> Events and Programs >> Exploring the Heavens

Upcoming Events:

Tuesday, August 14, 2018 - 11:00am
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 11:00am
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 1:00pm

Exploring the Heavens

Join us in the Visitor Center’s large auditorium as special guest NASA/JPL Solar System Ambassador Lisa Pelletier-Harman shares an overview of the first non-terrestrial telescope, NASA’s Hubble. Learn how it has changed our understanding of the Universe around us, some of the Mission’s highlights and an introduction to the next step in Observing’s evolution, The James Webb Telescope.

Date of Event: 
Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, August 11, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, November 10, 2018 - 2:00pm
Saturday, December 8, 2018 - 2:00pm
Start Location: 
Visitor Center Auditorium
Contact:

Fort Macon State Park

2303 East Fort Macon Road
Atlantic BeachNC 28512
Phone252-726-3775
fort.macon@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 34.697952
Longitude: -76.678340

Map of North Carolina

 

Fort Macon: 9am - 5:30pm daily.

Coastal Education and Visitor Center: 9am - 5pm daily.

Bookstore: 9am - 5pm Phone 252-247-3100

Bathhouse Area:
November - February:
8am - 5:30pm
March & October 8am - 7pm
April, May and September: 8am - 8pm
June - August: 8am - 9pm

Swimming Area:
10am - 5:45pm Memorial Day until Labor Day, if staffing permits

Fort Parking Area:
October - March: 8am - 6pm
April, May and September: 8am - 7pm
June - August: 8am - 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Park Office
8am - 1pm, 2pm - 5pm Monday - Friday
Closed state holidays