Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Fort Macon at Fort Macon State Park
Home >> Fort Macon State Park >> Events and Programs
Events and Programs

Fort Macon State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Meet in the Fort at 10:30 or 2:30 to learn about a 19th century musket's history, loading procedures, and firing.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Jul 30 2017 except Sat Jul 15 2017, Sun Jul 16 2017.
Sat, 07/01/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sun, 07/02/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sat, 07/08/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sun, 07/09/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sun, 07/23/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm, Sun, 07/30/2017 - 10:30am to 3:00pm
Start Location:
Fort Macon

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, & 3:00.

Date of Event:
Repeats every day until Mon Jul 31 2017 except Thu Feb 16 2017, Sat Jul 15 2017, Sun Jul 16 2017.
Sat, 07/01/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/02/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/03/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/04/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/05/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/06/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/07/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/09/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/10/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/11/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/12/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/13/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/14/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/17/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/18/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/19/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/20/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/21/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/23/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/24/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/25/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/26/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/27/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/28/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/30/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/31/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort

Meet at the Visitor Center and take a leisurely hike to identify birds native to the area.

Date of Event:
Repeats every month on June, July, August on the fourth Monday until Mon Aug 28 2017 .
Mon, 06/26/2017 - 9:00am, Mon, 07/24/2017 - 9:00am, Mon, 08/28/2017 - 9:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, & 3:00.

Date of Event:
Sat, 07/01/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/02/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/03/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/04/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/05/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/06/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/07/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 07/08/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/09/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/10/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/11/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/12/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/13/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/14/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/17/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/18/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/19/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/20/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/21/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 07/22/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/23/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/24/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/25/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 07/26/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 07/27/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 07/28/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 07/29/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 07/30/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 07/31/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort

Sign your kids up to work with a Park Ranger to earn their Jr. Ranger Patch.  This event is for children age 6-12 who must be accompanied by an adult.  Program lasts from 2:00 - 4:30. Space is limited.  Call the park office in advance to register. 252-726-3775

Date of Event:
Repeats every month on June on the second Thursday until Fri Jun 09 2017 . Also includes Mon Jun 19 2017, Thu Jul 13 2017, Mon Jul 24 2017, Thu Aug 03 2017, Thu Aug 17 2017.
Thu, 06/08/2017 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm, Mon, 06/19/2017 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm, Thu, 07/13/2017 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm, Mon, 07/24/2017 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm, Thu, 08/03/2017 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm, Thu, 08/17/2017 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm
Start Location:
Visitor Center
Contact:

Fort Macon State Park

2303 East Fort Macon Road
Atlantic BeachNC 28512
Phone252-726-3775
fort.macon@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 34.697952
Longitude: -76.678340

Park Hours:

Fort Macon: 9am - 5:30pm daily.

Coastal Education and Visitor Center: 9am - 5pm daily.

Bookstore: 9am - 5pm Phone 252-247-3100

Bathhouse Area:
November - February: 8am - 5:30pm
March: 8am - 7pm
April, May, September and October: 8am - 8pm
June - August: 8am - 9pm

Swimming Area:
10am - 5:45pm Memorial Day until Labor Day, if staffing permits

Fort Parking Area:
November - March: 8am - 6pm
April, May, September and October: 8am - 7pm
June - August: 8am - 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Park Office
8am - 1pm, 2pm - 5pm Monday - Friday
Closed state holidays