Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Fort Macon at Fort Macon State Park
Home >> Fort Macon State Park >> Events and Programs
Events and Programs

Fort Macon State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Fri Mar 31 2017 .
Wed, 03/01/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/02/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/03/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/06/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/07/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/08/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/09/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/10/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/13/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/14/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/15/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/16/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/17/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/20/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/21/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/22/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/23/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/24/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/27/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/28/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/29/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/30/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/31/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance

Learn about a 19th century musket's history, loading procedures, and firing.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Mar 29 2017 .
Wed, 03/01/2017 - 9:30am, Wed, 03/08/2017 - 9:30am, Wed, 03/15/2017 - 9:30am, Wed, 03/22/2017 - 9:30am, Wed, 03/29/2017 - 9:30am
Start Location:
Fort Macon

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Wed, 03/01/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/02/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/03/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/06/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/07/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/08/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/09/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/10/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/13/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/14/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/15/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/16/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/17/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/20/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/21/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/22/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/23/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/24/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/27/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/28/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/29/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/30/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/31/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Wed, 03/01/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/02/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/03/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/06/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/07/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/08/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/09/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/10/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/13/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/14/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/15/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/16/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/17/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/20/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/21/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/22/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/23/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/24/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/27/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/28/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/29/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/30/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/31/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Wed, 03/01/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/02/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/03/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/06/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/07/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/08/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/09/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/10/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/13/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/14/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/15/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/16/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/17/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/20/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/21/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/22/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/23/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/24/2017 - 11:00am, Mon, 03/27/2017 - 11:00am, Tue, 03/28/2017 - 11:00am, Wed, 03/29/2017 - 11:00am, Thu, 03/30/2017 - 11:00am, Fri, 03/31/2017 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance
Contact:

Fort Macon State Park

2303 East Fort Macon Road
Atlantic BeachNC 28512
Phone252-726-3775
fort.macon@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 34.697952
Longitude: -76.678340

Park Hours:

Fort Macon: 9am - 5:30pm daily.

Coastal Education and Visitor Center: 9am - 5pm daily.

Bookstore: 9am - 5pm Phone 252-247-3100

Bathhouse Area:
November - February: 8am - 5:30pm
March: 8am - 7pm
April, May, September and October: 8am - 8pm
June - August: 8am - 9pm

Swimming Area:
10am - 5:45pm Memorial Day until Labor Day, if staffing permits

Fort Parking Area:
November - March: 8am - 6pm
April, May, September and October: 8am - 7pm
June - August: 8am - 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Park Office
8am - 1pm, 2pm - 5pm Monday - Friday
Closed state holidays