Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Fort Macon at Fort Macon State Park
Home >> Fort Macon State Park >> Events and Programs
Events and Programs

Fort Macon State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Meet in the fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Repeats every day every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Thu Feb 28 2019.
Fri, 02/01/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/04/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/05/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/06/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/07/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/08/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/11/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/12/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/13/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/14/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/15/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/18/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/19/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/20/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/21/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/22/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/25/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/26/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/27/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/28/2019 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance

Meet in the fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Fri, 02/01/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/04/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/05/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/06/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/07/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/08/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/11/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/12/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/13/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/14/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/15/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/18/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/19/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/20/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/21/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/22/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/25/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/26/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/27/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/28/2019 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance

Meet in the fort's parade ground to learn about a 19th century musket's history, loading procedures, and firing.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Thu Feb 28 2019.
Wed, 01/02/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 01/09/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 01/16/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 01/23/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 01/30/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 02/06/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 02/13/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 02/20/2019 - 10:00am, Wed, 02/27/2019 - 10:00am
Start Location:
Fort Macon

Meet in the fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held Monday through Friday at 11:00.

Date of Event:
Fri, 02/01/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/04/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/05/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/06/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/07/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/08/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/11/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/12/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/13/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/14/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/15/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/18/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/19/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/20/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/21/2019 - 11:00am, Fri, 02/22/2019 - 11:00am, Mon, 02/25/2019 - 11:00am, Tue, 02/26/2019 - 11:00am, Wed, 02/27/2019 - 11:00am, Thu, 02/28/2019 - 11:00am
Start Location:
Fort Entrance

Meet in the Visitor Center lobby for a leisurely hike exploring the natural side of Fort Macon.  Hike will cover both trail and beach.

Date of Event:
Repeats every month on January, February, March, April on the third Thursday until Fri Apr 19 2019.
Thu, 01/17/2019 - 10:00am, Thu, 02/21/2019 - 10:00am, Thu, 03/21/2019 - 10:00am, Thu, 04/18/2019 - 10:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center
Contact:

Fort Macon State Park

2303 East Fort Macon Road
Atlantic BeachNC 28512
Phone252-726-3775
fort.macon@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 34.697952
Longitude: -76.678340

Map of North Carolina

 

Fort Macon: 9am - 5:30pm daily.

Coastal Education and Visitor Center: 9am - 5pm daily.

Bookstore: 9am - 5pm Phone 252-247-3100

Bathhouse Area:
November - February:
8am - 5:30pm
March & October 8am - 7pm
April, May and September: 8am - 8pm
June - August: 8am - 9pm

Fort Parking Area:
October - March: 8am - 6pm
April, May and September: 8am - 7pm
June - August: 8am - 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Swimming Area:
10am - 5:45pm Memorial Day until Labor Day, if staffing permits

Park Office
8am - 1pm, 2pm - 5pm Monday - Friday
Closed state holidays