Shop Reservations Newsroom

GO TO PARK

Events and Programs

Fort Macon at Fort Macon State Park
Home >> Fort Macon State Park >> Events and Programs
Events and Programs

Fort Macon State Park offers a variety of learning opportunities for all ages. Typically led by park rangers, these interpretive programs allow the public to gain perspective into what makes North Carolina state parks naturally wonderful. ​

Most of the events are free, though some require pre-registration. All give park visitors deeper insight into the natural world. Call the park office for more information.

 

Meet in the Visitor Center lobby for a leisurely hike exploring the natural side of Fort Macon.  Hike will cover both trail and beach.

Date of Event:
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu May 25 2017 except Thu Apr 27 2017.
Thu, 04/20/2017 - 10:00am, Thu, 05/04/2017 - 10:00am, Thu, 05/11/2017 - 10:00am, Thu, 05/18/2017 - 10:00am, Thu, 05/25/2017 - 10:00am
Start Location:
Visitor Center

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, & 3:00.

Date of Event:
Repeats every day until Wed May 31 2017 .
Mon, 05/01/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/02/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/03/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/04/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/05/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/06/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/07/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/08/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/09/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/10/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/11/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/12/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/13/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/14/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/15/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/16/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/17/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/18/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/19/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/20/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/21/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/22/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/23/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/24/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/25/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/26/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/28/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/29/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/30/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/31/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, & 3:00.

Date of Event:
Mon, 05/01/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/02/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/03/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/04/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/05/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/06/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/07/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/08/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/09/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/10/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/11/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/12/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/13/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/14/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/15/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/16/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/17/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/18/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/19/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/20/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/21/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/22/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/23/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/24/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/25/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/26/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/28/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/29/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/30/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/31/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort

Come down to Fort Macon and learn how different Civil War era cannons were loaded, aimed, and fired.  Cannon demonstrations will be at 10:30, 11:30, 1:30, 2:30, & 3:30.

Date of Event:
Repeats every month on the 27 of May until Sun Sep 03 2017 . Also includes Sat Jun 17 2017, Tue Jul 04 2017, Sat Aug 05 2017, Sat Sep 02 2017.
Sat, 04/15/2017 - 10:30am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 10:30am to 4:00pm, Sat, 06/17/2017 - 10:30am to 4:00pm, Tue, 07/04/2017 - 10:30am to 4:00pm, Sat, 08/05/2017 - 10:30am to 4:00pm, Sat, 09/02/2017 - 10:30am to 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort Macon

Meet in the Fort entrance for a guided tour of Fort Macon.  Tours last approximately 45 minutes and are held daily at 11:00, 12:00, 2:00, & 3:00.

Date of Event:
Mon, 05/01/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/02/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/03/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/04/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/05/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/06/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/07/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/08/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/09/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/10/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/11/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/12/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/13/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/14/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/15/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/16/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/17/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/18/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/19/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/20/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/21/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/22/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/23/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/24/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Thu, 05/25/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Fri, 05/26/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sat, 05/27/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Sun, 05/28/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Mon, 05/29/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Tue, 05/30/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm, Wed, 05/31/2017 - 11:00am to 4:00pm
Start Location:
Fort
Contact:

Fort Macon State Park

2303 East Fort Macon Road
Atlantic BeachNC 28512
Phone252-726-3775
fort.macon@ncparks.gov
Latitude: 34.697952
Longitude: -76.678340

Park Hours:

Fort Macon: 9am - 5:30pm daily.

Coastal Education and Visitor Center: 9am - 5pm daily.

Bookstore: 9am - 5pm Phone 252-247-3100

Bathhouse Area:
November - February: 8am - 5:30pm
March: 8am - 7pm
April, May, September and October: 8am - 8pm
June - August: 8am - 9pm

Swimming Area:
10am - 5:45pm Memorial Day until Labor Day, if staffing permits

Fort Parking Area:
November - March: 8am - 6pm
April, May, September and October: 8am - 7pm
June - August: 8am - 8pm

Closed Christmas Day

Park Office
8am - 1pm, 2pm - 5pm Monday - Friday
Closed state holidays