For visitor and staff safety and to prevent traffic congestion once any parking access completely fills, the access area will be closed for up to 90 minutes. Only park vehicles and emergency/law enforcement vehicles will be allowed to enter the access if it is closed.
Visitors planning to arrive between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. are advised to consider making alternative plans in case they arrive at a closed access area. Please refer to the North Carolina State Parks web site or alternative information sites for available options.
Staff addressing multiple responsibilities, including parking management and visitor safety, may not be able to immediately respond to inquiries.
Parking anywhere outside the gates is not permitted. Vehicles that do so will be towed and the owner cited.
Canoe rentals have been suspended until further notice.Posted on: Friday, July 7, 2017 - 3:17pm
There are no entrance fees to enjoy the park. In addition to park-specific rules, please read the systemwide Park Rules for all North Carolina State Parks.
Shuttle service is offered on weekends and holidays from Dixie Village Center to Crowders Mountain State Park's Linwood Access and both Sparrow Springs Access Points. $1.25 One Way/ $2.50 Round Trip. Shuttle Schedule
No private boats are allowed on the park lake.
Boat rentals are available daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. with extended hours on the weekend. This is subject to staff availability.
Canoes accommodate 2 people. You must be 18 years of age to rent canoes.
$5 per hour
Firewood is available to campers for $5.00 per locker. No outside wood is allowed.
Feeding wildlife, especially Canada Geese, is prohibited.
Climbing and Bouldering
All climbers must register with the park by completing a climbing and rappelling registration and activity permit which is available at the park office visitor center or at the self-registration box at the Linwood Access Area. There is no fee for this permit. Prior to activity, a copy of the permit must be deposited in a registration box or given to a park ranger. An additional copy is provided for participants and must be held in their possession while engaged in climbing or rappelling.
Participants are responsible for their own personal safety, including securing proper training and equipment, and adhering to safe practices. Basic rock climbing safety equipment and techniques must be used at all times.
The following state park climbing regulations apply at all times:
- Anyone climbing/rappelling/bouldering must register with the park staff and must keep in their possession a valid rock climbing/rappelling/ bouldering permit (the yellow copy of the registration form).
- Organized private, commercial, or non-profit groups must obtain a Special Activity Permit prior to the outing. There is a fee per day. To allow a balance between group and individual climbers, only three permits will be issued per day. Contact the park office for more information.
- NC state parks do not install or maintain any climbing route or fixed anchors.
- New routes are not permitted.
- Climbing/Rappelling/Bouldering is done at the individual’s own risk. Individuals are responsible for obtaining proper equipment and training.
- Free (unroped) climbing is discouraged.
- Route selection and the decision to rely on any fixed anchors are the climber's responsibility.
- Climbing activities are permitted in designated areas only and must coincide with the park's posted hours of operation.
- All accidents and injuries must be reported to park staff.
- Anyone climbing/rappelling/bouldering must schedule their activity in order to leave the park before the posted closing hour.
- Park only in designated parking areas.
Event permits. Some events—such as weddings, athletic contests, company parties, etc.—may require a Special Activity Permit. If you're unsure whether such a permit is necessary for your event, call the park office beforehand. You can download a Special Activity Permit or obtain one from the park office.
Research and collection permits. A permit is required for any project involving the collection, removal or disturbance of any natural or cultural resource of any state park unit and for projects that require placing monitoring equipment in any state park unit. Learn more about research and collection permits or fill out a permit application online.
A $25 fee will be charged for all returned checks.
Crowders Mountain State Park
November: 7am - 7pm
December-February: 7am - 6pm
March-April, October: 7am - 8pm
May-September: 7am - 9pm
Day use areas (Linwood Road Access and Boulders Access) and all trails close at the closing time posted at all entrance gates.
8am - 5pm daily